The Illusion of Happiness

Human beings are the masters of orchestrating illusions and believing them!

On an autumn’s morning, I get up and breathe in,
Lying to myself that the breaths which follow will be pure…
I push a smile on a tired face with no roots from within,
Another pre-broken promise to my soul that this pain I can endure!

On an autumn’s morning, I carry a book and read,
Lying to myself that the words I read will elevate my misery…
I push away a negative thought yet a 100 others breed,
Another desperate attempt to herd away the painful imagery!

On an autumn’s morning, I try to make sense of it all,
Lying to myself that the sense might make sense to me…
I push away regret and it comes bouncing back like a ball,
Another fake hope that it could, maybe, hopefully, set me free!

On an autumn’s morning, I finally realize my illusions:
Things will never change; accept them the way they are…
I push away the pretenses and the million confusions:
Hope is fake, attempts are desperate and happiness is far!

About outlived

X-dreamer, fighter and writer... Using words to unleash the pain that eats me from the inside out, day after day!
This entry was posted in illusion, Love, pain, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

